Region 3 Trauma Advisory Council (RTAC)

Region 3 Trauma Services

The Georgia Department of Public Health has divided our state into public health districts and EMS regions to better manage health resources throughout the state. 

Northside Hospital Gwinnett is part of region 3, which is made up of Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Newton and Rockdale counties. The public health departments and emergency teams within each region work together during emergency situations. 

Regional Trauma Advisory Committee (RTAC) Region 3

Region 3 Trauma

The RTAC is responsible for developing and maintaining the Regional Trauma System Plan and monitoring system compliance and improvement activities. RTAC is made up of local EMS agencies, hospital personnel, physicians, designated trauma centers, local governments and community members.

RTAC activities include injury prevention, system performance monitoring, and education to facilitate safe, quality, efficient trauma care. 

RTAC Regional 911 EMS providers

  • Air Evac Lifeteam
  • AMR
  • City of Hapeville Fire & Rescue
  • City of Morrow Fire Department
  • Clayton County Fire & Emergency Services
  • DeKalb County Fire Rescue
  • Douglas County Fire Department
  • Forest Park Fire & Emergency Services
  • Grady EMS
  • Gwinnett County Fire & Emergency Services
  • Metro Atlanta Ambulance Service
  • National EMS
  • Newton County EMS
  • Puckett EMS

Trauma System Region 3 Hospitals

Region 3 RTAC Trauma Map

Level I

Comprehensive trauma care, provides teaching residents in trauma care and research of trauma care

  • Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta at Egleston
  • Grady Memorial Hospital (includes a designated burn center)

Level II

Comprehensive trauma care, does not provide teaching residents in trauma care and research of trauma care

  • Northside Hospital Gwinnett
  • Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta at Scottish Rite
  • WellStar Kennestone Hospital
  • WellStar North Fulton Regional Hospital

Level III

Provides trauma patient stabilization and transfer to a higher level of care when needed 

  • WellStar Cobb Hospital